Vital Gathering VI

Natural Law in Clinical Knowledge

October 2nd and 3rd, 2021 at 8am PDT/ 11am EDT

13 hours General CE pending approval by NANCEAC for all 50 states & Canada

VIRTUAL

This year’s gathering focuses on how Nature heals, how we can identify and simplify the complex cases seen in clinic, and the final parts of naturopathic philosophy that Dr. Letitia Dick- Kronenberg and Dr. Jim Sensenig put together to solidify why we choose to practice naturopathic medicine as we do.


Saturday October 2nd, 2021


*Keynote: Update on the Global Naturopathic Profession (1 hr) Iva Lloyd, ND

  • Review the global reach of naturopathic medicine / naturopathy.
  • Understand the status of naturopathic education around the world.
  • Outline the status of naturopathic regulation and regulatory challenges in different world regions.
  • Review the research available to support naturopathic practice.
  • Highlight the involvement of the World Naturopathic Federation with the World Health Organization

Naturopathic Case Analysis, Simplifying Complex Cases (3 hrs) Louise Edwards, ND

  • Review of relevant Naturopathic Clinical Theory
  • Fundamentals of Case Analysis Form
  • Utilizing the Therapeutic Order to assess complex cases and create a treatment plan
  • Long term management of complex cases

Learning Objectives:

  • Determine where to start and components to prioritize in complex cases.
  • Apply the therapeutic order to develop treatment plans for complex cases.
  • Identify and treat most common factors that complicate cases.
  • Long term management of complex cases.

Dietary Reactivity and Nutrition (1.5 hrs) Jared Zeff, ND, LAc, VNMI

  • Dietary Reactivity, Evaluation of and Application in Clinical practice. 
  • Dietetics as cornerstone of Naturopathic Nutrition and reducing inflammatory food reactions to begin the healing process in the hierarchy of the therapeutic order.
  • Approaching diet/nutrition as medicine in clinical practice
  • Urinary Indican – Addressing clinical when and how. Applying Urinary Indican testing to dietary reactivity

Learning objectives:

  • Understand different Naturopathic approaches to evaluating Dietary Reactivity
  • Apply naturopathic nutrition in the context of the therapeutic order
  • Acquire skills to apply nutrition as medicine in practice
  • Demonstrate understanding of the use of urinary indican testing and how it applies to dietary reactivity

Panel Discussion (1 hr)


Sunday, October 3rd, 2021


Naturopathic Assessment (1 hr) Jared Zeff, ND, LAc, VNMI

  • Thyroid/Adrenal Assessment – Clinical Evaluation/Physical Exam
  • Pulse Diagnosis 
  • Leg Length Technique

Learning Objectives:

  • Know the skills to evaluate physical signs of thyroid and adrenal function
  • Understand naturopathic physical exam 
  • Demonstrate knowledge of Naturopathic Tongue and Pulse Diagnosis

Nature as Therapy: A Scientific Foundation (2 hrs) ND, LAc, MPH

Learning Objective:

  • Know the history and theory underlying the preventive, restorative and therapeutic applications of Nature Therapy.
  • Become familiar with relevant terms of including biophilia, shinrinyoku, ecopsychology, etc…
  • Know the pathological conditions for which an Nature Therapy approach may be beneficial
  • Acquire clinical knowledge & skills for utilizing Nature Therapy techniques with patients in naturopathic practice
  • Recognize the current programs and policies that are incorporating these techniques
  • Understand the potential for wider inclusion of this approach within the medical professions

Using the Advances in Science to Optimize Nature Cure in Practice (1 hr) Sara Hazel, ND

  • Hydrotherapy
  • Sunlight
  • Physical Manipulation
  • The Human Biofield

Learning Objectives:

  • Understand the science that supports Hot and Cold Therapies, water applications, and traditional uses of hydrotherapy and how to apply this in practice.
  • Understand the science that supports Sunlight Therapy through its effects on hormonal function, neurotransmitter production, circadian rhythms, and the clinical hormonal function, neurotransmitter production, circadian rhythms, and the clinical
  • Understand the science and how to integrate simple bodywork in various forms into clinical practice for faster more powerful results
  • Understand where advancing science and energy/vibrational methods intersect and how to reinterpret everything you do in terms of fields and wave

The Tenets of Nature (1.5 hrs) Letitia Dick-Kronenberg, ND, VNMI

Learning Objectives:

  • Participants will come full circle in the NMI Core Curriculum from VG1 with Dr. James Sensenig
  • Demonstrate a deeper understanding of Naturopathic Philosophy and the integration of natural law in practice
  • Mastery of the definition of Naturopathic Medicine
  • Understand the determinants of health, the Therapeutic Order and the principals by which we practice
  • Name the three causes of disease and the 6 treatment outcomes of Vitalism
  • Identify the missing piece or pieces of our understanding
  • Reveal and understand the Tenets of Nature that are the cornerstone of all of Naturopathy that we hold as true.

Panel Discussion (1 hr)

**Note: If you’re an NMI associate, login for your special pricing.**


SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

Time PDT/EDT Length of time hours Lecture/break Presenter
Saturday Oct 2, 2021
7;45am-8am 15 mins Intention
8- 9am PDT / 11am- 12pm EDT 1 Keynote: Update on the Global Naturopathic Profession Iva Lloyd
9- 9:15am PDT / 12-12:15pm EDT 15 mins Break
9:15- 10:45am PDT / 12:15- 1:45pm EDT 1.5 hours lecture Naturopathic Case Analysis, Simplifying Complex Cases Louise Edwards
10:45pm-11pm PDT / 1:45-2:00pm 15 min Break
11-12:30pm PDT / 2-3:30pm EDT 1.5 hours lecture Naturopathic Case Analysis, Simplifying Complex Cases Louise Edwards
12:30-1:30 PDT / 3:30-4:30pm EDT break 1 hour break
1:30-3pm PDT / 4:30- 6pm EDT 1.5 hour lecture Dietary Reactivity and Nutrition Jared Zeff
3pm-3:15pm PDT / 6- 6:15pm EDT 5 min break
3:15-4:15pm PDT/ 6:15-7:15pm EDT 1 hour Panel Discussion ALL
Sunday, Oct 3rd, 2021
8-9am / 11-12 EDT 1 hour lecture Naturopathic Assessment Jared Zeff
9-9:15am / 12-12:15 15 min break
9:15am-11:15am / 12:15pm-2:15pm 2 hour lecture Nature as Therapy: A Scientific Foundation Kurt Beil
11:15-12:15pm / 2:15pm-3:15pm 1 hour break
12:15pm -1:15pm / 3:15pm- 4:15pm 1 hour lecture Using the Advances in Science to Optimize Nature Cure in Practice Sara Hazel
1:15-1:3o / 4:15pm-4:30pm 15 min break
1:30pm- 3pm / 4:30pm-6pm 1.5 hour lecture The Tenets of Nature Letitia Dick-Kronenberg
3-3:15pm / 6pm-6:15pm 15 min break
3:15pm- 4:15pm / 6:15pm- 7:15pm 1 hour lecture Panel Discussion ALL

Looking for previous Vital Gatherings?


A Big THANK YOU to our sponsors for Vital Gathering 6